Deputy Governor’s Impeachment: Four Ondo Lawmakers reinstated

Four members of the Ondo State House of Assembly who refused to sign the impeachment notice of the state Deputy Governor, Hon. Agboola Ajayi, have been reinstated.

Justice Ademola Bola of the State High Court in Akure, on Friday, quashed their suspension after listening to their lawyer’s plea. The suspended lawmakers through their lawyer, Banjo Ayenakin, had sought the protection of the court against their unlawful suspension from the House.

The affected lawmakers are the Deputy Speaker, Hon. Ogundeji Iroju, the only female member in the assembly, Mrs. Favour Tomomowo, Wale Williams, and Tomide Akinribido.

In his judgment, Justice Bola described the suspension as illegal, null and void and of no effect whatsoever.

The presiding judge held that the House of Assembly as well as other members have no power to suspend any member of the Assembly, adding that the suspension of the lawmakers violates the 1999 constitution of Nigeria.

The judge, however, ordered that the lawmakers must be reinstated into their positions with immediate effect. He also directed the Assembly to pay a sum of N5million to each of the lawmakers as damages.

Olugbenga Ige

Olugbenga Ige

Ige Olugbenga is a fine-grained journalist. He loves the smell of a good lead and has a penchant for finding out something nobody else knows. Gbenga is an alumnus of the prestigious Adekunle Ajasin University, Ondo State and The Polytechnic, Ibadan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here